Engage. Inspire. Empower.

8th Grade

Our middle school program utilizes a team approach where approximately 100-120 students are placed on a team with their four core academic courses - English language arts, math, science, and social studies. 
These four teachers deliver all the instruction to their 100+ students.  This structure provides a more personalized learning experience for students and builds close relationships with both teachers and other students who get to know them best. Teachers discuss the students they have in common and establish stronger teacher-student relationships based on an improved understanding of the students and their specific learning needs. As a parent, you will notice that you may receive communication from the team, rather than just one teacher.

This is different from a typical "junior high" approach where teachers do not teach on a team. Instead, the math department delivers math instruction to all students who take math, and the English Language Arts (ELA) department teaches ELA to all students who take ELA. 

Our research-based teaming approach is making education better for our 7th and 8th grade students. 

Meet our teams!            

Dragons                                       

Liesl Armstrong-Slone         ELA                               liesl_armstrong@catawbaschools.net

Mark Simmons                         Social Studies         mark_simmons@catawbaschools.net

Megan Brown                          Math                             megan_brown@catawbaschools.net 

Victoria Lee                               Science                       victoria_lee@catawbaschools.net       

 

Warriors                                      

Brandon Helms                        ELA                               brandon_helms@catawbaschools.net

Tim Sigmon                                 Social Studies         tim_sigmon@catawbaschools.net

Paige Bagshaw                         Math                             paige_bagshaw@catawbaschools.net

Bruce Bethard                          Science                        bruce_bethard@catawbaschools.net             

 

8th-Grade Curriculum