Engage. Inspire. Empower.

8th Grade

Our middle school program utilizes a team approach where approximately 100-120 students are placed on a team with their four core academic courses - English language arts, math, science, and social studies. 
These four teachers deliver all the instruction to their 100+ students.  This structure provides a more personalized learning experience for students and builds close relationships with both teachers and other students who get to know them best. Teachers discuss the students they have in common and establish stronger teacher-student relationships based on an improved understanding of the students and their specific learning needs. As a parent, you will notice that you may receive communication from the team, rather than just one teacher.

This is different from a typical "junior high" approach where teachers do not teach on a team. Instead, the math department delivers math instruction to all students who take math, and the English Language Arts (ELA) department teaches ELA to all students who take ELA. 

Our research-based teaming approach is making education better for our 7th and 8th grade students. 

Meet our teams!            

Dragons                                       Team Website:      https://sites.google.com/catawbaschools.net/dragons-team-site/home

Liesl Armstrong-Slone         ELA                              Liesl_Armstrong@catawbaschools.net

Mark Simmons                         Social Studies         Mark_Simmons@catawbaschools.net

Kristen Houston                      Math                            kristin_houston@catawbaschools.net

Michael Slaughter                  Science                       Michael_Slaughter@catawbaschools.ne      

 

Warriors                                      Team Website:        https://sites.google.com/catawbaschools.net/warriorsteamsite/home

Averi Miller                                 ELA                                averi_miller@catawbaschools.net

Tim Sigmon                                 Social Studies         Tim_Sigmon@catawbaschools.net

Shad Franklin                            Math                            Shad_Franklin@catawbaschools.net

Beth Roland                              Science                        Beth_Roland@catawbaschools.net             

  

 

                    

 

 


 

 

 

 

8th-Grade Curriculum